• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

ESS THD ‘Hump’ Investigation

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor
IMD and HD are mathematically related; a given level of one produces a fixed level of the other. Basic (but messy) math (trigonometry). Because the analyzer plots THD and not just the HD terms it may obfuscate the relationship but it is there...

miero

jackenhack, try to send your board for a repair. the DAC chip should be easily replaceable with proper tools.

wadec22

The painful sound of ESS dac is only audible for the guys with 'golden ears' who can hear THD under -60db on their reference music and has headphones with lower THD than Toppings DAC.

I'm still learning so this is an honest comment/question.

On the noise test files from the test thread, most folks are hearing noise at -70db at normal listening volume. I was able to hear -90db by cranking the volume (barely).

Wouldn't we want noise to be at least -85 or -90 to have peace of mind?

Are these two threads not related due to the type of distortion being measured?

I've decided to avoid sabre DACs for now to avoid the hump. I can't afford the units that don't have it. I have the M10 and RME ADI2. Budget wise, I'd go El DAC.

Probably overreaction on my part I'm sure.

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor
Cranking the volume is only reasonable if you listen at that level. The idea is to figure out what noise floor is acceptable to you at normal listening levels. Room noise (far) dominates the noise for most of us.

The ESS "hump" is inaudible in normal (or even very loud) listening IMO.