• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Speaker distortion vs Preamp-Amp-DAC-distortion

• Thread starter Deleted member 50971
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 50971

Good morning/afternoon to you all.

My name is JJ and I just joined less than a week ago, and although I’ve had some pretty candid conversations with Amir in the past I made a profile, in hopes of furthering my audio knowledge.

I have a pretty good grasp of the electronics side of our signal chain, although I’m not technical, and don’t know the equations, I basically get it when it’s explained to me.

One thing I haven’t been able to grasp is speaker distortion, and I think that’s mainly because it’s a different set of parameters while measuring, and the info I have seen is all over the place.

Leaving the room out of it, (if possible) can someone help me to understand speaker distortions in layman's terms?

Are the two distortions compounded together, our signal chain before the speakers and the speakers themselves… or Is that not relevant and do we have to talk about them singularly? Simply put, does one have anything to do with the other?

Is it basically irrelevant because of how they interact with our room?

Lastly… why don’t speaker manufacturers talk about distortion in their speakers? It would seem to me that if they had a speaker measuring device like our host does, or access to an anechoic chamber it would be fairly easy to do.

I will say the speaker measurements by @amirm are enlightening to say the least, and speakers that I expected to measure better in some cases do not, and ones that I don’t expect to measure well actually do.

FeddyLost

Addicted to Fun and Learning