• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

KEF LS50 meta/w vs Genelec 8340a?

thewas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
It's best to understand GLM as a quick-and-dirty room correction. It's not trying to do anything fancy, it's just trying to put in a few simple PEQs to reduce the worst bass peaks. It's very minimalist.
I would like to add though that this minimalist approach works very well according to my experience and preference, I have been experimenting with DRC solutions a lot since more than 10 years now and used to apply detailed IIR und FIR corrections but have reverted back to minimal IIR PEQs mainly in the modal region.

holbob

To the OP - The listed price for the Genelec will be for a single speaker. For a stereo pair, the 8340 is double the price of the Meta.

Tangband

Major Contributor
To the OP - The listed price for the Genelec will be for a single speaker. For a stereo pair, the 8340 is double the price of the Meta.
The 8330 is much cheaper, has GLM, and has as low distortion as the 8030c.

12B8E8CE-3200-4839-BBF8-B1761D3C7AE1.png
6BA35598-2877-48E9-B925-0DE25AFDEEC8.jpeg
2D936665-0084-41AF-9868-56C8FB61FF1F.png

holbob

The 8330 is much cheaper, has GLM, and has as low distortion as the 8030c.
Yes I know. But the thread title mentions the 8340. If he goes for the 8330, then it will be approximately 30% more expensive than the Meta.

Tangband

Major Contributor
Yes I know. But the thread title mentions the 8340. If he goes for the 8330, then it will be approximately 30% more expensive than the Meta.
Yes, but a more fair comparison with the ls50 Meta in that pricerange is 8030c or 8330 , - 8340 is much more expensive .