• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SPDIF to USB converter for audio measurements

BLMN

Hi, I'm planning to replace my audio card with an external one for analog audio measurement. This one https://www.rme-audio.de/ADI-2-FS.html is a good choice, however, it does not have an USB interface, only SPDIF in/out.

I'm thinking of using a SPDIF/USB converter, but I don't know if it would work with my software (Virtins over Windows 10).

I saw this converter (https://hifimediy.com/product/s2-digi/) at an affordable price and, since I'm not an expert in the digital audio field, I'm asking if someone here has experience on doing this and if it works.

Regards and TKS in advance.

Last edited:

mdsimon2

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
TKS Marcos!

I asked Virtins support about it, and they just replied that the ADI2 FS is only an ADC/DAC converter and, therefore, cannot be controlled by Virtins.

Regards,

Corrected with https://www.corrector.co/

You won't be able to control the RME in Windows but you can use the SPDIF to USB card to capture the RME SPDIF output for measurement purposes. As long as you match the RME sample rate and the hifime S2 sample rate you should be good to go. In my experience the hifime S2 works with sample rates up to 192 kHz which matches the max RME sample rate so it is not like you would be limited from a sample rate perspective either.

Michael

OP
B

BLMN