• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

CHORD M-Scaler Review (Upsampler)

Rate this product:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 358 88.2%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 13 3.2%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 28 6.9%

• Total voters

DavidEdwinAston

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
I watched the Rob Watts and down under reviewer who can hear differences between USB cables and the "benefits" of the M scaler.

First a few declarations: I have a PhD in electrical engineering, researched into the application of digital filters utilising their "transient" impulse response characteristics as well as their "steady state" responses (in a non-audio application). I own and I am very pleased with a Chord Qutest DAC. I am also a very big supported of the "ASR approach".

I was very disappointed with Rob Watt's "explanations". I don't understand from a fundamental basis how he differentiates the "transient" response of a filter from its steady state performance. Both are wedded together through the filters impulse response, therefore frequency response does tell the whole story UNLESS Rob Watts has incorporated certain non-linear responses into his design. Normally such non-linear effects, such as limiting, are detrimental to sound quality.

I find the credibility of "unknown brain effects at sub 120 dB levels" very difficult to be convinced about.

The pricing of the M Scaler is just so difficult to swallow - can our down under friend really hear a difference in USB and M Scaler applications or is he just a Rob fan boy?