• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Diatone p610 DIY build

ToriCatcher

Hey everyone,

I'm in the early stages of planning a pair of speakers, based on the chinese knock off of the Diatone (Mitsubishi) full range driver P610.

These have some pretty crazy cabinet designs. As I'm rather new to DIYing speakers, I'm leaning towards the more conventional bookshelf designs as in the attachments.

I would really love to hear from anyone with experience working with these drivers. Especially anything in the direction of measurements, plans and impressions (but anything else too, really).
Another problem I'm having is in obtaining 100% reliable data.

Two specific choices are needed to be made about the drivers: magnet - ferrite or alnico, all suppliers of the driver claimed the measurements are almost the same.
Resistance - both drivers are available in 4 or 8 ohms resistance, I was not able to attain a chart, and the suppliers claimed the charts are similar, just different magnitude... Arising my suspicion regarding the reliability of the measurements.

The next questions are regarding the cabinet. The simple bookshelf design attached has no bracing or documentation of acoustic insulation.
The final thing (I currently think) is that if using a passive filter of some sort is in place. All I know is that some people use one to reduce brightness a little. I'm currently leaning towards not using a filter, adding one later if one is needed.

I would love to hear anyone's input!

Attachments

• Screenshot_2022-06-28-13-49-52-281_com.alibaba.aliexpresshd.jpg
    Screenshot_2022-06-28-13-49-52-281_com.alibaba.aliexpresshd.jpg
    53.7 KB · Views: 425
  • Screenshot_2022-06-27-12-04-43-282_com.alibaba.aliexpresshd.jpg