• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC, AMP, Headphone Balanced Cables for Desk and Portable Applications

wacomme

This is my first post, though I've been lurking for a couple of weeks. I'm a total newbie.

I recently purchased Hifiman Sundara headphones. I want to use them both at home with Apple Music through a Macbook Air (M1), but also at work. I have Windows 10 at work, but I'm struggling with iTunes on the PC, so I'm using an old IPad as my Apple Music player connected through a Hidezs S9Pro dongle - mostly desktop use, not for portability. I'm seeking a better AMP/DAC for home use. I have a Samson Q2U USB/XLR Microphone at home that I often use for Zoom meetings and the like; the mic is currently used via USB. Here are my questions/thoughts. I'd love your input.

1) Since the S9 dongle has a 2.5mm balanced output and I'm using Sundara headphones, I'm thinking I might benefit from a balanced headphone cable (Hart cables?) for more power - not for volume, but to drive the headphones better than the stock headphone cables. Good idea?