• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping DX3 Pro+ for very low impedance headphones? (Hifiman Edition XS)

propaganda1

Hi guys,

I need some help picking out an amp+dac stack/combo for my Hifiman Edition XS's. According to Hifiman, the Edition XS has an impedance of 18ohms (which is very low from what I have seen, I am a noob so bear with me) and a sensitivity of 92dB. When I was reading the review of the Topping DX3 Pro+, Amir mentioned that the amp doesn't like very low impedance headphones. Would you be able to recommend me an amp/DAC around the same price that would be suitable for my headphones?

Thanks,

staticV3

Master Contributor
Amir mentioned that the amp doesn't like very low impedance headphones.
I suspect that was a measurement error. When WolfX-700 measured the DX3Pro+ on his APx555, it didn't mind a 16Ω load at all:
THDN-Ratio-vs-Measured-Level (2).jpg

When you compile the data into max Vrms vs load graphs, it looks like this:
Adobe_20220427_111802.jpg

Needless to say, something went wrong during one of those measurements.

OP
P

propaganda1

I suspect that was a measurement error. When WolfX-700 measured the DX3Pro+ on his APx555, it didn't mind a 16Ω load at all:
View attachment 202735

View attachment 202737

I see, thank you very much for the response. Would you say the DX3 Pro+ would be the most suitable for my headphones? It is very feature-rich but a lot of the things I am not really going to use, so I'm just looking for a bunch of recommendations from people that know much more than me. I'd be happy to spend up to £200.

Thank you!

Hamster