• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best DDC to Get Parametric EQ Working with Floorstanding Speaker System

HapaxLegomenon

Hi All,

It's my first time posting, so apologies if I violate any forum rules.

As I wrote in the title, I'm trying to figure out the best way to get parametric EQ working with my floorstanding speaker system. I use a discrete DAC, preamp, and amp.

Initially I thought the fastest way was to use UAPP on my LG V40, which I thought has a pretty good DAC, and then connect its headphone output to my preamp using a 3.5mm to RCA cable. But then I thought this was a bad idea since the V40's headphone jack wasn't designed to serve as a line-out, and was also designed to power headphones, not speakers. I thought this would cause soundstage to suffer, and I had some worries about impedance mismatches. Also, I'd have to forego my existing DAC which I possibly like better than the V40's ESS DAC.

Then I thought, okay, I'll just buy a USB to optical converter and connect it to my phone for use with UAPP (my DAC only has optical and coaxial input, and I assumed optical was preferable since it breaks ground loops). Since this is a digital to digital conversion, I figured that price of component doesn't matter; it either works or it doesn't. But I'm actually not sure of this assumption, which is why I'm asking you guys whether a cheap DDC would produce identical results as a more expensive DDC.

I found these 3 on Amazon:

1. https://www.amazon.com/Cubilux-TOSL...7649218&sprefix=usb+to+optical,aps,207&sr=8-7

2. https://www.amazon.com/Reiyin-Digit...7649200&sprefix=usb+to+optical,aps,207&sr=8-4

3. https://www.amazon.com/Douk-Audio-C...7649200&sprefix=usb+to+optical,aps,207&sr=8-3