• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

PS Audio PowerPlant 12 Review (AC Regenerator)

Rate this product:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 249 90.2%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 18 6.5%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 1 0.4%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 8 2.9%

• Total voters

Spkrdctr

Major Contributor
I'm sure glad we have the Internet to learn folk what years of college and decades of real-world engineering practice have failed to achieve... And to demonstrate how to misapply basic engineering principles for the benefit of marketing.
Don, reading the information given by PS Paul, it doesn't seem right to me at all. I am not an expert at this (audio grounds) but he is talking about putting a signal on the ground wire, or board trace that leads to ground and saying that whatever is on that ground is causing spurious tones that he can hear. I'm assuming then that shunting noise and every other thing to ground is not getting the job done. So, the ground is not really the ground. It is a path of some kind (to the amplifying circuit) to allow the spurious noise to go to the speakers. So, am I way off base on what he is saying? Or, am I right in what I think he is saying but what he is saying is true? But, if what he is saying is true, how does any electronics engineer really truly ground anything so that whatever is on the ground wire, PCB trace etc is not somehow showing back up on the output of said device and heading off to the speakers. I don't believe it one bit if I am right in my understanding of it. Sounds like snake oil to me. But, I could be wrong.

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor