• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Raspberry pi streamer

amper42

Major Contributor
The HW assembly - putting the board in the enclosure with four screws and plugging in a microSD card and a PS - was trivial. I used my PC and a SD-to-microSD adaptor to copy the OS image (and then plugged the microSD into the RPi). No RPi-attached monitor is needed, only some run-rime web-interface based configuration. RoPieee page offers installation instructions.

Personally, I use a regular RoPieee SW as a Roon end-point (with an external USB DAC). The RoPieeeXL adds some other functions - including Apple Airplay and DLNA client (though I have no experience with the latter).

RPi-4’s internal WiFi is good enough, so no external dongle is generally needed.

If you buy two SD cards can you install one with RoPieeeXL and the other with MoOde OS and see which one you like best? Is it as easy as installing an OS on each card and then swapping them into the RPi4 for testing?

amper42

Major Contributor
Flash the SD card with the software of choice. I use Moode Audio. USB Pi4 to the same RME DAC.

If Moode Audio is installed on the Pi4 will it allow the artwork of the album playing to be shown on the TV if you use a mini-HDMI cable from the Pi4 to an HDMI input on the TV? The Denon 4700 does this with a wifi DLNA connection from Audirvana and it looks really nice.

AudioSQ

If Moode Audio is installed on the Pi4 will it allow the artwork of the album playing to be shown on the TV if you use a mini-HDMI cable from the Pi4 to an HDMI input on the TV? The Denon 4700 does this with a wifi DLNA connection from Audirvana and it looks really nice.