• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping DX3 Pro+ vs Ifi Zen Dac V2

TosicBob

Hello everyone!
I have a pair of Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro (250Ohm) and in search of a good Dac/amp or a Dac + Amp Combo with a maximum budget of around 200€.
From what I found the Topping DX3 Pro + and Ifi Zen Dac V2 are the best choices, but now which one should i choose, and why?
If you have other advices, feel free to tell, since I'm new to the HiFi World.
I would buy from amazon.it
Thanks in advance!

RickSanchez

Major Contributor
Cartographer
Topping DX3 Pro + and Ifi Zen Dac V2 are the best choices, but now which one should i choose, and why?
Those are options, but not the "best" ones. There are many excellent DACs, headphone amps, and DAC/amp combos on the market that are reasonably priced and would work for your DT 990 Pro's.

Hopefully you've spent some time on ASR already to get a feel for which DACs measure well and are transparent, along with what those measurements mean. Same for headphone amps. The difference with headphones is that you also have to pay attention to:
  • output power. Does the amp have enough juice to drive your particular headphones to loud enough listening levels without distorting?
  • output impedance.
    • if you're not familiar with it here's the 1/8 rule: NwAvGuy: Headphone & Amp Impedance
    • For your headphones (250Ω input impedance) the Topping DX3 Pro+ is fine even with its rather high 20Ω output impedance. But for someone like me using 35Ω headphones I'm not going to take the risk of having the amp potentially alter the FR curve.