• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Introducing Hang Loose Convolver from Accurate Sound

MJT

Dear @mitchcoMy DSP experience is summarized to PEQ filters generated with REW. I am new in the world of convolution. So I would like to know if HLC would be useful or not for my applications and sound chain. What I have clear for the moment is that I will have to take measurements with my UMIK and create the filters with one of these: Acourate, Audiolense, Focus Fidelity.
The functionality of being able to switch between different filters in real-time is great and very useful, but it is not my main motivation, since I have very well-defined target curves. I find it very interesting in its specifications and your comments, that it is supposed to be system-wide, so it would apply to the sound output of any program (although I imagine that maybe in Windows it needs some routing configuration).

So this would mean that when playing UHD discs, using HLC I would not be limited to having to use JRiver convolver, since HLC itself is a convolution engine? And above all, if we talk about system-wide, this would also solve any other application of the HTPC either YouTube audio, any streaming app like Netflix, Prime Video, Disney+, and any player like saying VLC or Foobar ?

In short, my intrigue is to know and understand if after designing the corrections for each channel, HLC would be the host and engine of the convolution filters and therefore the fixes would be applied to any output generated by any program within Windows OS. So I would avoid having to configure such programs individually (if they allow convolution) or having to resort to plug-ins.

OT but helpful...