• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How loud is loud, how to measure it? Is THX calibration bad for your health?

sarumbear

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I am an electroacoustics engineer. We are a rare breed. When I got my M.Sc. my class of six were the only ones in UK. I am now retired from engineering and audio is my hobby. You can find more about me on the about page on my profile.

The behaviour of the sound (acoustics) and how we hear it are very complex to formulate. We are dealing with the physical and the physiological, and at the interaction is our brain. We should not assign objective values to what we experience. They are not solid repeatable values. There are no Precision Instruments, nor Klippel to objectively measure how we hear. Add the complexity of music as the source material and it becomes impossible to formulate the sound coming from a speaker in a domestic environment with any precision. Think of this if you plan to read further. What I am about to explain is not objective but also not subjective. It is based on my knowledge that has been accumulated during 50 years as either an electroacoustic engineer, a recording engineer, a speaker manufacturer, and a Hi-Fi hobbyist.

How loud is loud?