• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

"The secret of big speakers"

oivavoi

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Of course I agree that one should get as much right possible with the acoustic design ;) But I'm not sure I agree with the rest. What digital artefacts are we talking about, for example?

To be clear, I would never buy a speaker system that wasnt DSP-based these days. And I’m no expert at all. Still, my limited understanding is that there is a potential for DSP to create audible artifacts, if it’s not done right? I read a couple of studies on this some time back, but forgot the precise details. Will see if I can find them.

Purité Audio

Master Contributor
Industry Insider
Barrowmaster
Forum Donor
Latency doesn’t make the slightest difference for music layback of course, when you choose a low latency mode in the Kiis you only ‘lose’ the total phase coherence , everything else is untouched.
Keith

maverickronin

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
How much latency are we talking about? I can't imagine it being any more than TV/monitors these days...

Fitzcaraldo215

Major Contributor
To be clear, I would never buy a speaker system that wasnt DSP-based these days. And I’m no expert at all. Still, my limited understanding is that there is a potential for DSP to create audible artifacts, if it’s not done right? I read a couple of studies on this some time back, but forgot the precise details. Will see if I can find them.